The Pioneer Woman’s Pot Pie

This is my first official “topic” post on this site, and of course it just has to be a recipe. No, not my recipe, but certainly one you will want to print off and keep stashed away with all those other “keepers”. My husband always must approve a recipe before I will make it again. If I hear the words, “Babe, this one’s a keeper!” out of his mouth, I know that I need to save the recipe. Not only did he approve of this recipe, but he bragged about how good my chicken pot pie came out to his dad who is a pot pie critic! I had to stop him eventually so he didn’t embarrass me so much. Deep down I was thrilled he was so taken with that chicken pot pie though. Thanks, Pioneer Woman! ;-)

I hardly ever keep to a recipe 100%, because I am just naughty like that and like to experiment a bit. I didn’t do much to this one though. The only thing I added was potatoes to the filling just to make it a bit heartier (I was feeding a big crew). Two things you cannot cheat on with this is the fresh herbs and homemade crust. Boooy, they make a difference! I made a top and bottom crust, because who on earth does not love pie crust?!

If you are looking for a crust recipe, this is mine (I have sort of come up with my own version of crust over the years):

My Pie Crust Recipe

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup crisco

1 egg beaten

1 TBSP vinegar

1/4 cup cold water (more or less – just enough for the dough to come together)

pinch of salt for savory dishes or 1 TBSP sugar for desserts

Blend crisco into flour and salt (or sugar) until it resembles course crumbs. Add whisked egg and vinegar, stirring with a fork. Slowly add water a little at a time until the dough comes together. Shape into a ball carefully and cut in half. This makes two 9″ crusts.

 

This is a special meal. Everything is from scratch and it just tastes so good! You could even add more veggies, like corn or peas to it too. Be creative and have fun. That’s what cooking is all about.

Enjoy!

The Happy Homemaker

3 thoughts on “The Pioneer Woman’s Pot Pie

  1. Thank you for sharing a part of your life with us. We will be blessed for it and I hope you get a blessing out of sharing all these goodies with us.
    P.S. I can’t wait to try the chicken pot Pie with your crust recipe. I was there when Kyle was going on about it. Everything that I have eaten of your has been DELICIOUS !!!

Leave a Reply

