Handmade Christmas Gifts

If you are anything like me, you enjoy making your own handmade Christmas gifts each year. While I do not exclusively make all the gifts we give out, I do make about half them if I am feeling ambitious. The key is planning ahead, and this year I feel like I am just a bit behind. Never fear though… we still have a little bit of time to get these crafts in motion! I have come up with a list of DIY projects that I thought were unique, yet some are traditional. Believe it or not, many people like to receive the traditional handmade scarf or hat. These days things like that are harder to come by! The fun with making your own gifts is also personalization. If you know the person well enough, you should have no problem picking colors or figuring out the style.

Craft stores already have Christmas items in stock, and many are having major sales. Now is the time to start planning so you can shop for what you need. If you are a knitter or like to crochet, these projects can tend to take time. Try to plan your projects so you get the most time-consuming ones done first. Seems like a no-brainer, but the longer projects can get boring, and many tend to want to do the quick, easy ones. Like me. :)

I am excited about some of these ideas! Some of them are so unique. So, here we go.

Plastic Canvas Ornaments.  These are meant to be ornaments, but I could see them as beverage coasters too! This would be a cheap project, especially if you used left-over yarn scraps.

pc-ornament-done1wm

 +++

Jute Wrapped Monogram Wreath. This is so pretty! The receiver of this gift can keep the “wreath” up for long after Christmas.

GREAT handmade gift idea!

+++

Homemade Vanilla Extract. Alcoholic and non-alcoholic version. I have been wanting to make this for so long. One day I will! Give yourself some time with this one – it takes weeks to “brew”.

Making Homemade Vanilla Extract is so easy. Would make a wonderful homemade Christmas gift. #homemade

+++

How to make soy candles. It is actually rather simple! The lavender sounds wonderful.

EasyHandmadeGiftDIYSoyCandle thumb Handmade Gifts: How to Make DIY Soy Candles

+++

Sugar Cookie Sacks. This is one of my favorites! Perfect to give as a family gift, and so stinkin’ adorable!

Cookie sack trio

+++

These little handwarmers would be perfect for children and adults alike. This project would take very little time for all you who love to sew!

+++

Wood Slice & Burlap Wreath. I absolutely love this wreath! How different, yet gorgeous! I want to make one of these so badly, and even the Hubby thought it was cool. ;)

WoodSliceandBurlapChristmasWreathcopy thumb Wood slice & Burlap Christmas Wreath

+++

Ginger and Coconut Oil Scrub. I love sugar scrubs. In fact, I make them each year and love the effect it has on my skin. Making your own sugar scrub is so fun, and is a wonderful gift to give to the ladies! There are many more scrub “recipes” out there, so look around.

+++

Make this Christmas Countdown for your husband! This is more of a pre-Christmas gift, but it is soo special! I did this one year, and I think my husband appreciated getting a note each day. The Dating Divas have so many great ideas.

+++

I’m sure most of us have made or been given something from a mason jar before. Who wouldn’t love to receive a chocolate chip cookie mix in a jar?! So pretty, and the recipe is supposed to be OUTSTANDING. Comes with the free recipe and printable label. What’s not to love? Be traditional. I think this is going to be added to my list!

CUTE Cookies in a Jar Gift - free tags on { lilluna.com }

+++

Below are some of my own Christmas gifts I have made in years past. I will try to explain a little about each one, but if you would like more in-depth instructions, please let me know! I will make another post in the future on designing your own labels for gifts.

Homemade Pomegranate Vanilla Shea Butter Soap. This is basically made by melting a shea butter soap block, adding your scents and dyes and swirling to make a pretty design. Super simple!

+++

Pomegranate Splash Sugar Scrub. You can tell I was into pomegranate that year! This is made by combining two ingredients: Olay Dawn dish soap and sugar. Perfect for rough feet and hands.

+++

This project is a little more time consuming, but went over so well with my family members! If you have already canned jams, jellies, butters, sauces, etc., then this could go by quickly! In the basket (which was 50% off the week before Christmas at Michaels one year): Grape jam, apple butter, biscuit mix, peppermint oreo pops and handmade cotton dish cloths.

+++

There’s a lot of guys in my family. If you are into crocheting, then this hat is great! I started with someone else’s pattern and ended up making a ribbing along the bottom. Warm, and the guys love these hats! I have added the link for you to get the basic pattern.

I know figuring out handmade gifts for men can be hard. Yep, I understand! Here are some other ideas:

-Homemade spice rubs for grilling

-Handmade Shea Butter soap just like above, but with manly scents and colors

-Homemade trail mix

Paint dipped golf tees

Homemade rosemary mint shaving cream

+++

This post could last forever-n-ever, but I think these should last you for a while. Also check out Pinterest. There are always bloggers that make up a list of their most favorite DIY projects and make a Pin. Like me. :)

I realize I don’t have many children friendly DIY gifts above, but a few of these can always be made in children’s sizes and styles. Be creative! Kids always love what adults have, so if you have a father and son in the family, make them matching hats! Or a mother daughter duo – make them matching scarves! Or give the kids their own unique ornament. Or better yet, get them some supplies so they can make things themselves. I don’t know many kids that don’t like hands-on projects.

Have fun! And do let me know what you make. I love seeing handcrafted projects come together!

The Happy Homemaker

2 thoughts on “Handmade Christmas Gifts

Leave a Reply

