Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

The next few days will be fun as I get all of the photos, recipes and ideas from my daughter’s party on here. In the meantime, here is a chocolate chip cookie recipe for you! Maybe you could make a batch to eat while browsing my party posts later this week. Good thinkin’, huh? ;)

Each week I teach/help at a children’s club at church on Tuesdays. I signed up for the snack this week, and after all the busyness from the weekend, wasn’t sure what I was going to make. Then I remembered my chocolate-loving-husband (read that however you like.. hehe) had picked up semi-sweet Ghirardelli chocolate chips last week. Chocolate chip cookies. The ultimate snack that mostly everyone loves! If you don’t like chocolate chip cookies, something is wrong with you!!

This is completely my own recipe. I have tried so many recipes over the years, but really love the flavor and color of this recipe that I have tweaked to my own preference. Browned butter has been so popular these last few years, and it really does impact a recipe… for the good!

If you are skeptical about the idea of trying to make browned butter, never fear! I will explain how to do it as clearly as possible. It really is not hard at all!

Preheat oven to 350°F.
Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook 5-10 minutes, stirring or swirling the pot every so often. Make sure the butter is not boiling, or it will make a mess. You just want it to simmer and cook until you start to see it foam. Be very careful not to burn it. Swirling the pan/pot will help that. Once you start to see it turn brown (see photo below) give it one more minute before turning the burner off. And that’s browned butter. Set aside to cool while you measure out the other ingredients.
DSC_1069
You want all the brown bits in the bottom of the pan too.
DSC_1073
Blend flour and baking soda in a separate bowl. Once butter has cooled, add sugars and cream together. Beat for 2-3 minutes. Next, add the vanilla, egg, yolk and sour cream to the butter mixture. Blend until smooth. Add flour mixture slowly until everything becomes combined.
Dump the entire bag of chocolate chips into the bowl. Mmm-hmm, the entire bag. :)
DSC_1074
Stir chocolate chips into the batter using a spatula or spoon.
DSC_1078
Dig in with a spoon (yes, I eat raw cookie dough) and you are done.
Kidding. Read on. :)
Chill dough in fridge for 30 minutes, or pop into freezer for a few. If you want to skip this step altogether, you can, but I can’t say the results will be the same. Your dough may flatten out more if you leave it room temp. Try to keep the dough cool until it is baked each time. I put the bowl of dough into the fridge until I need it for the next batch.
I like to use parchment paper for my baked goods. It keeps the pan clean and the cookies usually slide right off! Using a cookie scoop, drop dough onto a baking sheet. This is pretty self-explanatory!
DSC_1082
Bake for 9-11 minutes. Every oven is different, so I suggest starting at the 9 minute mark and going from there. Mine were done at 11 minutes. You only want them slightly golden along the edges. Do not overbake these guys. They are meant to be soft on the inside.
DSC_1089
Oh, how beautiful a sight this is!
DSC_1091
DSC_1094

Enjoy with a cup of milk, or whatever you wish!

Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
by The Happy Homemaker
2¼ cup all-purpose flour
1¼ teaspoons baking soda
¼ teaspoon of salt
1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter
1¼ cup dark brown sugar, packed
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg plus 1 egg yolk
1 tbsp. sour cream (or yogurt)
1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
****
Other variations:
-Add 1/4-1/2 tsp. mint extract OR almond extract to the batter along with the vanilla extract.
-Use other flavored chips, such as butterscotch, white chocolate, peanut butter, etc.
-Cut down on the chocolate chips and substitute with nuts.
A couple notes:
I make my own brown sugar and tend to make it a little dark, so my cookies may look darker than yours will if you use light brown sugar.
I have made this with yogurt too. Anything you have on hand, even if it is flavored, will work. It just helps them to stay moist.
_______________
I’d love feedback on this recipe, as it is my own. Let me know how they come out!
The Happy Homemaker
2 thoughts on “Browned Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

