Simple Sugar Cookie Recipe

How has everyone been doing? I know, you have not heard from me in a while. There are so many good recipes and projects to share, yet I have been busy actually trying a lot of things out! Are you as busy as I am these days? When you make your own Christmas gifts, you are bound to get wrapped up in projects… then there’s the decorating and the parties to attend. And oh, don’t forget about those busy children you have that make a mess seconds after you clean something.

Yes… you totally understand where I am going here.

But in the midst of all this busyness, there has to be some time for cookie making. I recently attended a Ladies’ Christmas Tea at my church, and it was so lovely. We had vintage teacup sets and everyone brought a plate of their favorite Christmas cookies. I don’t really have a favorite, but I do love sugar cookies. There is something about them that makes everything feel like Christmas! Although I have made a batch of them every year since having my own home, I hadn’t quite mastered the awesome sugar cookie that I had been wanting.IMG_7473-2

Who knew it could be so simple? I found a very basic sugar cookie recipe online. No extras to make them more moist or soft. It was just a basic ingredient list. We always are looking for those special ingredient recipes (I know I am!), but sometimes all you need is a traditional recipe and a few tips to get you a wonderful, classic sugar cookie.

Here are some tips:

1. Always, always chill your dough before rolling it out. I have found this step absolutely necessary with not only these cookies, but any other cookie as well. It’s a must!

2. When rolling out your dough, place a piece of parchment paper on your counter and tape down the corners. Or you can use a dough mat if you have that. Place another piece of parchment paper on top of your dough as you roll it out. Or you can use plastic wrap. This was a huge help to me, so the dough did not stick to the rolling pin. And I never used any extra flour for rolling. I feel like extra flour can dry out your dough.

3. Keep your dough thick. You only need to roll it out to about 1/4 inch. I had never made such thick cookies before, but it makes such a big difference with how they bake up.

4. If your dough appears to be too hard after chilling, knead it with your hands for a minute or two. This really helps to slightly warm it up and make it easier to roll out.

5. The biggest tip of all. DO NOT OVERBAKE! If there is one thing that I don’t like, it is over baked cookies. You know your cookies are ready when they are only very slightly golden on the bottom. They will finish browning just a little bit on the pan before you transfer them to a wire rack. The recipe gives you a range of 7-11 minutes, so always go with the shortest time and work your way up according to your oven.

6. Use parchment paper to line your cookie sheet. I do this for all of my baking!

Here is the recipe from Make Bake Celebrate. You can check out her photos for ideas on the right thickness for your dough.

These won’t last long. I made two batches the other night for my family and some friends and they were gone in one evening.

Have fun!

The Happy Homemaker

Below is a picture I took on Instagram of my cookies. You can find the snowflake cookie cutter I used here.

2 thoughts on “Simple Sugar Cookie Recipe

    • Hi Sarah! No, I don’t have an icing recipe on my site. :-/ In my Instagram picture, I just used store bought vanilla frosting and thinned it out with a little milk. It does not “set” like normal sugar cookie icing, but it is yummy and an easy alternative to making your own. The only downside is you cannot stack your cookies.

      I usually whip up my own from scratch (without a recipe), but here is something similar to what I would do for a icing that will set. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sugar-cookie-icing/
      You can omit the corn syrup if you wish.
      I hope you enjoy the recipe! And thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

