DIY Pine Wreath Tutorial

Before I get started, let me just say that I am not a wreath making expert. In fact, I have never made a wreath before in my life! I didn’t read up on any wreath making tutorials. I didn’t get any special wreath making supplies. I just used what I had around my house! That’s what I loved about this project. And that’s what you are going to love about this project!

DSC_1072-1

I was given some fresh pine branches for decorating my house, and was trying to figure out how to use them. I love anything real and rustic, and these branches were just screaming WREATH to me! I could already picture the whimsical look of the long pine needles in a wreath. But bending the branches into a wreath was not working for me.

I came across some idea on Pinterest to use a wire hanger as a base for a wreath, so I went ahead and dug through my closet for a hanger.

Here is what you will need:
wire Hanger
Pine branches at least 2 feet long
3 evergreen branches from a juniper tree (optional)
string or wire
scissors
wide ribbon

Here is how I did it:

With all your strength and might, bend the hanger into a circle. It’s really not that hard. :) And it doesn’t have to be perfect, so don’t fiddle with it for too long. Just circular works. The wreath will take a more circular shape as you add branches. Begin by weaving your branches around the hanger. Fasten the ends with your string or wire. I didn’t have wire, so I used yarn. But wire would work so much better if you have that!

DSC_1061

Secure the branches in the first round as tightly as possible. This will create a good base and the string will be covered after adding more branches.

DSC_1062

After you have tied the first few branches onto the hanger, begin weaving in more. Some of them will be fine just woven, but others you will need to tame by tying them down. From there on out, it’s just a matter of trial and error. Some branches work in certain places and some don’t. Try to keep the branches going in one direction, like clockwise, or counter clockwise as I did.

Tearing off a few of the “twigs” growing off the branch is a great way to fill in sparse places on your wreath without having to weave in a whole new branch.

DSC_1063

It starts to take shape and look really nice after a while of tucking in branches and twigs here and there. It does take a while to get it all fastened into place and looking up to snuff. I like the look of some of the woody part showing, but you can try to hide that if you wish.

DSC_1065

Here’s a closeup of some of the weaving. Who knew something as simple as pine branches could be so beautiful?!

DSC_1066

I bent the top hook of the hanger down to create circle so I could hang the wreath. Then I tied a very simple bow with some very beautiful ribbon I bought at Joann Fabrics. I will be using this ribbon on our tree! You can fasten it onto the hook in the back. Whatever works for you.

As you can see, I was left with a bit of a gap on the right side. I had collected some evergreen branches from some trees in my parent’s yard earlier this week. They made a pretty centerpiece on my dining room table! I looked it up and I believe they are called Spartan Juniper trees. Their leaves are gorgeous.

DSC_1069

So… I decided to use three sprigs for my wreath to fill some of the gaps. I just tucked them in securely.

Here it is on my front porch under our very ugly mailbox. :) The wreath makes it look pretty now!

DSC_1073-1

DSC_1077

Very festive. Ready to greet our mail lady.

DSC_1074-1

And that was all I did! I love projects like this where I can use stuff I already have on hand. I am not big on buying a bunch of supplies for one project. But if you find a wreath base on sale or have one on hand, go ahead and use that!

I’m so excited to share this with you all. It is satisfying to create something using fresh supplies from nature and know that it hardly cost me anything to make. And it doesn’t have to stop there. You can use anything else you have on hand to make your wreath just what you want. Pinecones would be perfect, as well as other sprigs of evergreens. Mini ornaments will make it colorful, or some artificial embellishments from a craft store.

I’m counting down the days… it is truly “the most wonderful time of the year”, and I am enjoying it!

Enjoy your weekend!

The Happy Homemaker

One thought on “DIY Pine Wreath Tutorial

Leave a Reply

