Heartwarming Soups and Chowders for the Chilly Months

Have you gotten into the swing of things with the new year in place? We are almost to the end of January already and I feel like all I wanted to accomplish has not gotten done yet. Part of my excuse is that we will be welcoming a new addition to our family the beginning of September! That has caused lots of excitement in our house, along with a pretty exhausted mama dealing with morning sickness around the clock. But what a great way to start off my new year. :)

Of course with January in full swing, it brings even colder weather with it if you live in New England like I do! I don’t know about you, but this time of year always makes me crave a hot bowl of soup or chowder. Add some homemade biscuits or bread and butter and you have the fix for that mid-January chill. Most people think of soups when fall time arrives, but now is a good time to revamp your recipe collection and add some new heartwarming meals to your weeknight menu!

Here’s a list of some of my favorites, and some new kinds you can try out:

Cheeseburger Soup.

I have used this exact recipe, and it is fabulous! It is so good, and so filling. I can bet your whole family will love this.

Hamburger Soupfinal1resize

Cauliflower Chowder.

Though I have never tried this recipe, it looks heavenly! And it is low-carb too, which is even better. I love cauliflower, and look forward to trying this.

Cauliflower Chowder - A creamy, low carb, hearty and wonderfully cozy soup for those chilly nights!

Lasagna Soup.

This soup is also incredible. So filling, and soo good. Who doesn’t love lasagna? Lasagna Soup - afarmgirlsdabbles.com #lasagna #lasagnasoup

Zuppa Toscana.

One of my favorite soups from the Olive Garden! Did you know you can make this at home, and it tastes just as good? This soup is so yummy.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup.

Another recipe to add to my “to make” list! This looks like a very easy soup to put together. I can imagine it has tons of great flavor! Topped with crispy tortilla strips on top… it’s calling my name.

The best slow cooker chicken tortilla soup! Recipe by @bakedbyrachel

Slow Cooker Broccoli Cheese Soup.

I am crazy over broccoli cheese soup. How can you go wrong?! Broccoli… cheese… cream…. ahhhmazing! This is a recipe for your crockpot, which is even better! Slow Cooker Broccoli Cheese Soup | Cooking Classy

Italian Orzo Spinach Soup.

This is a vegetarian soup, with the option to add meat if you like. It’s loaded with veggies, whole wheat orzo, and lots of flavor!

Italian Orzo Spinach Soup | gimmesomeoven.com #recipe

Chipotle Chicken and Corn Chowder.

I don’t know about you, but the picture below makes me so hungry! I have always loved dishes with a bit of a bite, and this twist on the classic corn chowder has me dying to trying it out!

Chipotle Chicken and Corn Chowder

Do these soups and chowders have you drooling yet? I can’t wait to try some of these out, can you? They definitely seem like a good cure for a cold day!

The Happy Homemaker

Leave a Reply

