Chicken with Mustard

I must admit… I have been dodging a post for a while… a long while, I know. First trimester really got me this time around! We had sickness come and go, come and go, through our house, along with my pregnancy fatigue and nausea. I had no energy to get myself ready each day, let alone think about a posting. And even as I sit at my dining room table writing this, my daughter is in my lap munching on apple chunks, and I am trying to keep her from deleting my entire post. See, there is never a dull moment in the life of a mom. :)

So now that I am 15 weeks along, and into my 2nd trimester, here we are. I am back into the swing of dinner meals finally after being pretty lazy for a few weeks. My poor hubby. We have (shamefully) been eating frozen pizzas, soups, and anything pre-made or really easy these past few months. Ick. I was ready to get back to my home cooked meals.Chicken with Mustard - simple enough for weeknights, but special enough for company

The last special meal I made was for me and my sweetie on Valentine’s Day! I was trying to figure out something really delicious, but different and something to “wow” my husband! Since we both love chicken thighs, I knew I had to make this Chicken and Mustard dish when I saw it. Plus, I was going for something French inspired, to add a little flair to the evening. Jennifer from Seasons and Suppers really broke down the recipe and made it easy to follow.

When I made this chicken, it did take a while to prepare. But it was well worth the work and wait. It smells heavenly as it simmers on the stovetop! I don’t cook with wine, so I just substituted the white wine with crisp white grape juice. The chicken was to die for. Absolutely a new favorite to add for special days, or even when having guests over.

Oh, and I should add that I was forced to keep the bacon out. My husband won’t eat anything pig, so I really feel that it would have added even more flavor! Bacon makes everything better, right?! But it was still very delicious. So if you don’t like bacon either, just opt out!

I served this with garlic and parmesan mashed potatoes. I basically used white potatoes and cooked them. Then I added garlic powder, sour cream, butter, salt, pepper, and the star, parmesan cheese. Whip them up and they are so decadent and creamy! We used the gravy from the chicken to drizzle over the potatoes. Are you drooling yet?! I bought fresh asparagus for the green part of the meal, and it just was awesome with the potatoes and chicken.

Try not to skimp on the mustard, either. The ingredients for this recipe are not that complex, and the list is actually rather small. It calls for Dijon mustard and grainy mustard, which are both the main star of the recipe. They aren’t expensive, which is nice.

So if you are looking for a French recipe, but don’t want something difficult, you should try this chicken!

Happy cooking!

The Happy Homemaker

Leave a Reply

