Cold Brew Iced Coffee

You may not have heard of this method to making iced coffee before, but the chances are you have. Coffee shops across the country are advertising this “cold brew” coffee, and it’s not a wonder why! When I finally decided to give this method a try (after having pinned it on Pinterest a long time ago), there was no turning back. In fact, I almost prefer this coffee to buying one out at Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks. Maybe I am becoming a coffee snob, maybe it’s because making your own is much cheaper… whatever the case, I will take my own coffee over store bought any day.

Why? Well, I guess you’ll just have to try it yourself! There are many different things you can do to reach the cold brew coffee to your personal taste. You can let it “brew” for longer time, choose different brands and roasts of coffee, grind your own beans fresh…

The possibilities are endless. I have really enjoyed trying out different coffee grinds and have come to find my perfect routine. I originally started following The Pioneer Woman’s recipe for her Perfect Iced Coffee. That’s where it all began. I just love her pictures of the process! I will be showing you a few of my own (quickly taken) photos of how I make up a cup each morning, but her photos are just perfect for showing you the process of making the brew.

Here are a few of my own preferences and tips that I have discovered in my months of making this:

-Do not skimp on quality. Even if it costs you more to buy a nicer brand of coffee, in the end it is much, much, MUCH cheaper. So if buying a $10 pound of Starbucks coffee seems steeper than what you’d normally buy, imagine getting 3-4 weeks worth of iced coffees for only that price! Remember, this is a coffee concentrate by the time you are finished, so it lasts for a very long time.

-Buy a cheesecloth… BUT, don’t fully rely on it to filter out all the itty-bitty pieces of coffee grinds. I invested (very small investment) into a cheesecloth, but found that my brew still looked “murky” after straining. I just don’t like that, so in addition to that, I strain it again through a regular coffee filter over a fine mesh strainer. It works well, regardless of how much time it takes to filter.

-Halve the recipe. Unless you have a huge amount of space in your fridge, you may want to cut this recipe in half. This is what I do, unless I plan on giving a bunch away to people. I just don’t have the space in my fridge. So instead of making 2ish gallons worth of concentrated, cold brew coffee, you’re making 1.

Those are just a few of the things I have found necessary for me during this process. My husband and I are in love with this version of iced coffee, and look forward to every morning when we can go straight to the kitchen and make up a cup of amazing REFRESHING iced coffee!

The best part, in my opinion, besides the taste is that it doesn’t melt down to this watery substance when you pour it over ice. It’s just smooth and creamy (if you like using half n half) and much less acidic than regular brewed coffee.

Below is my process for making up a cup. I have also listed some tools to help make your life easier when you go to make this amazing stuff!

The process to making a cup is simple, but please remember, this is a coffee concentrate. So a lotta’ ice and cream is needed! FILL your cup to the top with ice. No skimping! Next, pour coffee 2/3rd of the way. Add cream, milk, half n half… whatever tickles your fancy. Sugar is good too. ;) I love using a mason jar, so sometimes I put the lid on and shake it up. The end result is a creamy, foaming iced coffee. Mm. Land O Lakes is my favorite half n half. Just look at how cold and refreshing it looks!

And because an iced coffee is not an iced coffee unless there is a straw involved, I get these cheap plastic straws to stick in there. It makes it so much better for some weird reason!

COLD BREW COFFEE

1 pound ground coffee (medium/bold roasts)
8 quarts water

Combine coffee grinds and water in a large container. 
Let sit at room temperature for at least 8 hours or overnight. 
Strain through a cheesecloth over a fine mesh strainer into a clean container. 
For additional filtering, pour through a coffee filter and fine mesh strainer. 
Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. 

To make a cup, fill a glass full of ice cubes. Pour coffee 2/3rd full, and add 
cream and your choice of sweetener. Best made in an old fashion mason jar. :)

I hope you enjoy this as much as we do in this house. Below are some items that you can find to help with the process.

Enjoy!

The Happy Homemaker




One thought on “Cold Brew Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

